Make A Difference, Henry County.



Henry County Community Foundation

700 South Memorial Drive New Castle, IN 47362 www.henrycountycf.org 765.529.2235

HCCF News to Know!

- 1. **Directory of Indiana Grantmakers** online resource is located at the New Castle-Henry County Public Library. The database has profiles of over 1,000 funders in the state of Indiana. Visit <u>here</u> for more information.
- 2. **The Workshop for the next Choose Henry Fund grant cycle** is scheduled for Wednesday, January 30, 2019, at 4:00 pm at the New Castle-Henry County Public Library. The workshop is required for any interested nonprofit wishing to apply for a grant.

HCCF will be closed on Thursday, November 22 and Friday, November 23 for the Thanksgiving holiday!





Donate to the Choose Henry Flex Fund and your gift will be MATCHED 2:1 The matching opportunity is available for a LIMITED TIME ONLY! The Choose Henry Flex Fund is unique in its ability to assist local nonprofits that provide programming and services in Henry County. Grants are made from the Choose Henry Fund to organizations that address the needs of the community to promote and support social services, arts and culture, health and recreation, civic affairs, and education for Henry County residents. Click <u>here</u> to learn more about the Choose Henry Flex Fund.

Ways to Donate

- Online at <u>www.henrycountycf.org</u>
- Cash or Check at Henry County Community Foundation, P.O. Box 6006, New Castle, IN 47362
- Gift of Grain
- IRA Rollover
- Stock

Caine Grants Awarded For 2018 Christmas Season

The Henry County Community Foundation has chosen the recipients for the Harold E. and Imogene M. Caine Memorial Fund Grants for 2018. The Caines were residents of Mt. Summit and regular supporters of Toys for Tots. Harold and Imogene wanted to continue their legacy by giving needy local children gifts at the holidays and chose to establish a Field of Interest fund to assist children in their Last Will and Testament. While Mr. Caine passed in 2001, the Caines' spirit of Christmas endures, lighting up the face of a child with gifts of clothing, toys, and food on Christmas morning. Since 2002, the Harold E. and Imogene M. Caine Memorial Fund has provided holiday cheer for over 3,200 Henry County children.



This year, Caine grants are being awarded to four programs to benefit Henry County children. Grants have been awarded to the Christian Love Help Center, Knightstown Cheer Guild, Inc., Middletown/Fall Creek Township EMS, and Westminster Community Center. We are proud to support these organizations who are working to provide a Merry Christmas for our local children through the Caine's Field of Interest fund.

Field of Interest funds are established by a donor to support a general purpose or specific geographic area for which funds are to be spent. The Foundation makes grants to appropriate programs or organizations to honor the donor's wishes. If you would like more information about how to support this program or to establish your own Field of Interest fund, contact the Henry County Community Foundation at 700 S. Memorial Drive, New Castle, IN 47362, call 765-529-2235, or visit <u>www.henrycountycf.org</u>. Make a difference, Henry County!

Photo caption: Volunteers with the Knightstown Cheer Guild assemble Christmas baskets. They were one of four recipients of the Harold E. and Imogene M. Caine Grant in 2018.

L-R, back row: Katelyn Goodpaster, Devyn Schaetzle, Hannah McKellar; front row: Samantha Burgess, Jeffrey Davis, Carly Allen.



Henry County Community Foundation Announces 2019 Finalists for Lilly

Endowment Community Scholarship

The finalists for the Henry County Community Foundation 2019 Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship Program are Carly Allen, Shenandoah High School; Samantha Burgess, Blue River Valley High School; Jeffery Davis, Hagerstown High School; Katelyn Goodpaster, New Castle High School; Hannah McKellar, Tri High School; and Devyn Schaetzle, Knightstown High School.

Every graduating senior attending Blue River Valley, Hagerstown, Knightstown, New Castle, Shenandoah, Tri and Union high schools, who is also a Henry County resident, is eligible to apply for the Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship. Each high school nominates one student to represent their school in the Henry County Community Foundation's scholarship selection process. After the Foundation's scholarship committee from outside the county narrows the field to one nominee and two alternates, their names are forwarded to Independent Colleges of Indiana, Inc. (ICI) for the final selection of Henry County's 2019 Lilly Endowment Community Scholar, who will be notified by ICI in December. The finalists who are not selected as Henry County's Lilly Endowment Community Scholar will each receive one-time \$1,000 scholarship awards from the Henry County Community Foundation for being chosen to represent their school.

ICI is a nonprofit corporation that represents 30 regionally accredited degree granting, nonprofit, private colleges and universities in the state. This scholarship is the result of a statewide Lilly Endowment initiative to 1) help Hoosier students reach higher levels of education; 2) to increase awareness of the beneficial roles Indiana community foundations can play in their communities; and 3) to encourage and support the efforts of current and past Lilly Endowment Community Scholars to engage with each other and with Indiana business, governmental, educational, nonprofit, and civic leaders to improve the quality of life in Indiana generally and in local communities throughout the state. There are 143 scholarships awarded statewide.

TASC Grant Application

Due: Friday, December 7, 2018 at Noon Visit <u>here</u> for more information and to apply!



Memorials

At the request of the family, the Foundation is honored to accept donations for the following people.

Lola Mae Getchell October 13, 2018

Jackie Lee "Jack-Jack" Roach October 2, 2018

October Memorials

Phyllis Austin Jane Ann Baker Dorothea Ballard Larry Bennett Derek Clark Jan Conway Edna Shoopman Cross Lola Mae Getchell Dennis R. Hinton Martha McNeil Gabe Mosley Dolores Parkhurst Lewis Frank Regner Jackie L. Roach Wayne & Cecil Tague Vicki Thalls Jessica Wantz Scott Wiley

October Honorariums

Brandon Bowling Erin Bundy Natalie Estelle HCCF HCCF Grants Committee Geneva Henderson John Henderson Ted Moyer Max Murphy Ted Myers Lisa Pfenninger Duane & Peg Queener Priscilla Thurston

October Donors

Mr. and Mrs. Steve Alexander Baker Agency Mr. Michael J. Barr Mr. and Mrs. Ronald Blessinger Mr. and Mrs. Mike Broyles Herb & Judy Bunch Mr. and Mrs. R. Cole Buttry Mr. Terrell L. Clampitt Ms. Marsha Conway Mr. Robert Cronk Mr. James A. Davis Kelly J. Deters Steve and Chris Dicken Edwards & Edwards Accounting Ms. Lana Enlow Dr. Larry P. Gough Mr. Richard Gross Estate of Dean Hahn Ms. Dawna Hardwick Henry County Clerks Office Hinsey-Brown Funeral Service, Inc. Mr. and Mrs. Aaron Huffman Mr. Russell C. Jacobs Jr. M.L. Jenks The Jack Keith Family: Gay, Barry, Kevin & Kent Ms. Dana Kendall Mr. and Mrs. Lowell A. Lumpkin Magna Machine & Tool, Inc. Ms. Sandy Maple

Mr. Melvin Marlow Ms. Connie Masters Mr. and Mrs. Duane Matthews Ms. Pam McDonald Mr. and Mrs. Donald J. Mehl Mike, Susan, Hank, and Olivia Neal New Castle Noon Optimists Robert Osborne Ms. Gail J. Parka Mr. and Mrs. Rex Peckinpaugh Mr. David L. Petty Mr. and Mrs. Steve Pfenninger Mr. Joe Pierce Estate of Paul & Marian Prior Ms Judith A. Razor Ms. M. Jane Reece Richard & Carolyn Riley Mr. and Mrs. Greg Shaw Jeff & Susan Shelton Mrs. Juanita Sheward Jeff and Kathy Smiley Ms Mary B. Smith Dr. Neil Thornhill Mr. and Mrs. Paul Trainor Mr. and Mrs. Mike Wantz Mr. and Mrs. Daniel W. Ware Mr. and Mrs. Brady Wells Mrs. Wanda M. Williams Mr. and Mrs. Lyle Wilson Mr. and Mrs. Robert A. Workman



